Towards Zero 2016 Road Safety and Media Awards

Minister for Roads and Road Safety Luke Donnellan with journalists from The Age, Media Outlet of the Year winnersVictorian organisations and journalists have the chance to be recognised for their commitment to road safety with the third annual Towards Zero Road Safety and Media Awards.

People play a pivotal role in road safety and the Towards Zero approach. We want to acknowledge the dedication and valuable work local organisations and the media put in to help make zero deaths and serious injuries a reality.

Update: All winners were announced at the Towards Zero Melbourne 2016 symposium.

  • Towards Zero Road Safety Awards

    The Road Safety Awards recognise public and private organisations that have put in place outstanding initiatives which have helped advance road safety or reduced road trauma.

    Organisations will be judged based on the four Towards Zero pillars: Safer Roads, Safer Vehicles, Safer Speeds and Safer Road Users.

    Download the criteria and entry details.

  • Towards Zero Media Awards

    Journalists and media outlets also have the chance to be recognised for excellence in reporting road safety issues with the Towards Zero Media Awards. The media plays an important role in helping the community understand the Towards Zero vision.

    The Awards recognise the many journalists and media outlets dedicated to reporting and investigating road safety issues in their communities.

    Awards on offer include Best Metropolitan Story, Best Regional Story and Best Media Outlet for Towards Zero Reporting.

    Any journalist working for a Victorian media outlet who has reported on a road safety story or issue between 1 July 2015 and 30 June 2016 is eligible to enter.

    A trophy and $500 prize money will be awarded to each winner at the Towards Zero Road Safety Leadership Symposium in Melbourne on Monday August 15.

    Entries close at 5:00pm on Friday July 29.

    Download the criteria and entry details.